#100DayChallenge – Day 4, 5 & 6

Some things I have learned or discovered over the past 3 days:  

  1. Learning something totally new makes me anxious!  The stuff I don’t know about podcasting far outweighs what I do know.  I am a task-oriented person, and I like to get things done.  It makes me anxious that I can’t cross this “learning to podcast” thing off my list.  I am still having fun and being challenged, so I will keep that as my focus.
  2. There are so many educators out there that are so passionate and giving of their time/resources/expertise to help out!  My last blog post was about Jeffrey Bradbury from www.teachercast.net .  His podcast about podcasting is a great resource!!  I also made a visit to a local high school to discuss a steam classroom.  The teacher there – Brett Slezak – was so passionate and supportive I secured him as one of my first guests on the show!  Brett can be found on Twitter @AVPhysEd  His expertise is so vast that my visit to his high school is a separate blog post in itself!
  3. I have a lot to learn!  The good news is I know how to surround myself with smart people.  One of our tech guys not only patiently helped me with the tech side of Skype, Call Recorder and Garage Band to name a few but he also taught me some psychology (AAA – Acknowledge, Align, Affirm).
  4. Blab https://blab.im/   A podcast show that I listened to this morning (#PrincipalPLN) featured the website blab.  I have not tried it out yet, but it seems to have some pretty cool connections to the educational world.   I am going to explore it as an option to connect with parents.  Please let me know what creative ways you are using this site.
Leave a Reply

